The Power Of Nothing

A while back I had to write a short paper for a college writing class on the subject of my choosing, and I couldn’t think of anything to write. I searched for inspiration and came up with nothing. So I thought, since I can think of nothing to write about, I’ll write about nothing….

Have you ever thought about nothing? Have you ever said nothing? Have you ever done nothing? Have you ever seen nothing? If you have, then you may have come to recognize the power of nothing, as I have.

For instance, I have found that doing nothing can be very tiring. Whenever I am doing something, especially something that is productive in some way, I usually seem to find the energy to keep doing something. But it seems the more I do nothing, the less I actually want to do anything. Doing nothing drains my energy faster than working.

Nothing can be a powerful tool of logic. “From nothing, nothing comes” is a basic principle which implies that something must have made the universe, because nothing produces only nothing. It’s also powerful in mathematics. Multiply zero by any number, and you’ll end up with nothing.

God also uses the power of nothing. When Jesus sent out the twelve disciples, He told them to take nothing for their journey. In this way, He taught them to have faith in God, and tested the generosity of those whom they would meet.

Some people use nothing to make a living and seek power. Politicians are famous for this. They have made an art of speaking and saying nothing at the same time. One famous comedian made his living for several years from a TV show that he created and which he called “the show about nothing”.

Most everyone has seen, done, or said nothing at some point in their life, but few of us think about the many ways which nothing affects us. Nothing does not live up to its name. The power of nothing can be very influential for something as insignificant as its name suggests.

 

 

 

 

© 2017 David Robert Fuller

 

One thought on “The Power Of Nothing

  1. Pingback: The Power Of Nothing by David Fuller — Christian Consciousness @KlausRiptide | Talmidimblogging

Leave a Reply

